#ROW80 Check-in Week 11 & my writing process

I wrote between 1 hour and 1 hour 30 on “His Warrior”. I’m really happy with the way it’s going.

I had quite a surprise last night when I realised that, in fact, I was far from finished editing “Coming Out”. I need to develop more of it. I guess I know what’s my goal next round then!

ROW80 participants

The way I write might surprise some of you: I write a first draft, then develop, then “Surprise!” I need to develop more.
I have a very strange approach.

I started to work on what is now “Coming Out” months ago, from another character’s point of view. I started writing, then did a bullet point list of the plot, wrote a lot more…

Then Harry, “Coming Out” ‘s main character took over. So I started again the process.
It seems I need to start writing to get the characters and the story to open up to me.
This process is being repeated with another story I started working on -most likely the second of the Shadow World series.

However, for “His Warrior”, I just got the starting scene in my head and the story is unravelling before me as I write. I have, I admit, no plot for it, just a vague idea of the main story. Let’s see how it works out.

5 thoughts on “#ROW80 Check-in Week 11 & my writing process

  1. Katherine

    Our process (mine and my husband Eric’s) is like building an onion. We start with a kernel of plot, usually where the story begins and ends and the major character(s). Then we start adding layers as needed: other characters, other relationships, other B-line plots. It’s not the quickest way to work, but it gets the job done. Therefore, your process sounds pretty sensible to me! 🙂

    Reply
  2. alberta ross

    stories know how they wan’t to go – cunning little beasties they are – you have to go with the way it works for you – well done and keep smiling

    Reply

Leave a Reply

